Skip to content

Tuition fees

A notebook and a credit card

Universities of applied sciences and universities charge a tuition fee from Bachelor’s or Master’s level students studying in languages other than Finnish or Swedish. EU/EEA area and Swiss citizens are not subject to the charge.

Tuition fee will be charged from studies starting in 2017 or later. The amount of the fee can vary between higher education institutions.


The higher education institutions will develop a scholarship scheme that will give financial support for students enrolled in degree programmes that are subject to the charge.

Exemption from the fee

The fee will not be charged from students who are equated with EU area citizens. The exemption will also apply to those who have an EU blue card stated in the Aliens Act, continuous or permanent residence permit or a long-term resident’s EC residence permit.

Read more:

Migri – EU Blue Card for work that requires high level competence (Finnish Immigration Service)

Migri – Residence permit (Finnish Immigration Service)

EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Gibraltar.

EEA countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.